Video Introducing America the Beautiful Quarters

The video at right introduces and summarizes the new George Washington quarter-dollar series, which the United States Mint has entitled the America the Beautiful Quarters Program.

The program begins in 2010 and honors national parks and sites throughout the U.S. There will be 56 coins released in total, at the rate of 5 per year.

Each coin’s reverse side will feature a design symbolic of a national park or site in each state, the District of Columbia and U.S territories — Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, U.S. Virgin Islands, and Northern Mariana Islands.

The first honored with a newly designed quarter will be Hot Springs National Park in Arkansas. To follow will be Yellowstone National Park in Wyoming, Yosemite National Park in California, Grand Canyon National Park in Arizona, and Mount Hood National Forest in Oregon.

On the observe, or heads side of the coins will be a restored version of George Washington’s portrait which was first featured on the quarter-dollar in 1932.

The video also recaps the massive commemorative silver bullion coins that will be issued along with the quarters.