America the Beautiful Quarters Specifications

America the Beautiful Quarter

Although the design of the U.S. quarter has been changing on the reverse or tails side since 1999, their coin specifications have not. The series of 56 America the Beautiful Quarters issued between 2010 and 2021 will all feature the same obverse design and have the exact same metallic composition and sizes.

America the Beautiful Coin Specifications

  • Standard Weight = 5.670 g
  • Standard Diameter = 0.955 in (24.26 mm)
  • Thickness = 1.75 mm
  • Edge = Reeded
  • Composition = Cupro-Nickel Clad (91.67% Cu, 8.33% Nickel)

The circulating coins will be struck from either the Denver or Philadelphia US Mint facility, and bear respective mint marks of "D" or "P" on the obverse side.

The United States Mint also produces the quarters in proof and uncirculated grades specifically for coin collectors. While the coin’s finish is different, their metal compositions are not. Mint descriptions for each coin finish follow:

Proof Description

The term “proof” refers to a manufacturing process in which specially treated coin blanks are struck multiple times with specially polished dies to create a brilliant, sharp relief and mirror-like background.  A frosted, sculpted foreground gives the proof coin a special “cameo” effect. 

Proof quarters are struck at the US Mint facility in San Francisco, and therefore feature a "S" mint mark.

Uncirculated Description

United States Mint uncirculated coins are struck on special presses using greater force than circulating coins, producing a sharp, intricately detailed image, and feature the satin finish introduced in 2005.

Uncirculated quarters are struck in both Denver and Philadelphia, and will have the "P" or "D" mint mark.

The America the Beautiful Quarters Program is a multi-year initiative to honor 56 national parks and other national sites in each state, the District of Columbia and U.S. territories — Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, United States Virgin Islands and the Northern Mariana Islands.

The law authorizing the series is Public Law 110-456, which came into being after congress passed and President Bush signed the America’s Beautiful National Parks Quarter Dollar Coin Act of 2008 on December 23, 2008.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *