America the Beautiful Quarters Designs Unveiled March 24, 2010

The U.S. Mint will reveal the final five designs for the 2010 America the Beautiful Quarters on March 24, 2010, according to a news media advisory.

2010 is the inaugural year for the America the Beautiful Quarters Program that will include 56 coins bearing different reverse (tails side) designs until 2021. The first five coins in the program honor the following National Parks and National Site:

  • Hot Springs National Park in Arkansas,
  • Yellowstone National Park in Wyoming,
  • Yosemite National Park in California,
  • Grand Canyon National Park in Arizona, and
  • Mount Hood National Forest in Oregon.

The Mint unveiled the design candidates for these coins last year, which consisted of 19 proposals in total — three for Yellowstone, and four each for Hot Spring, Yosemite, Grand Canyon and Mount Hood.

Through a process of reviews by host park and site executives, the United States Commission of Fine Arts (CFA) and the Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee (CCAC), what was considered the best of the designs was recommended, tweaks were made, etc.

The ultimate decision for each selection, as mandated by the America’s Beautiful National Parks Quarter Dollar Coin Act of 2008 (Public Law 110-456), was up to the Treasury Secretary, and based in large part by the US Mint’s Director’s recommendations.

The design unveiling will occur at noon ET at the Newseum, which is located at 55 Pennsylvania Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20001.

The Mint will release the first America the Beautiful quarter rolls on April 19, 2010.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *