2010 America the Beautiful Quarters Release Dates

The picture has become clearer for when the 2010 America the Beautiful Quarters will begin to circulate. While the United States Mint has started to create the buzz for the first Hot Springs National Park Quarter set to enter circulation on April 19, 2010, with a following ceremonial launch on the 20th, it has remained silent as to the release dates for the following four quarters of the year.

Other entities must be prepared for the quarter releases, outside the U.S. Mint and its processes. Most notable is the Federal Reserve, which is actually responsible for receiving new U.S. Mint coinage and then distributing it to the various banks who supply the Nation’s circulating change.

In part of the preparation, the Federal Reserve has received advance notice from the Mint about coin availability, and has published what is likely to be the release dates for the 2010 quarters. Including the first release, here the 2010 America the Beautiful Quarters release dates:

  • Hot Springs America the Beautiful Quarter (Arkansas) — April 19, 2010
  • Yellowstone America the Beautiful Quarter (Wyoming) — June 1, 2010
  • Yosemite America the Beautiful Quarter (California) — July 26, 2010
  • Grand Canyon America the Beautiful Quarter (Arizona) — September 20, 2010
  • Mount Hood America the Beautiful Quarter (Oregon) – November 15, 2010

While unlikely, it is possible that one or more of these dates could change. The Federal Reserve so indicates.

2010 is the first year of the America the Beautiful Quarters® Program, which will honor 56 sites — mostly National Parks — in every state, D.C. and U.S. Territory. The quarter series will feature five rotating reverse designs a year until 2021. The obverse (heads side) of each quarter will remain the same as always, depicting George Washington using John Flanagan’s 1932 portrait of the first United States President.

Selecting 56 sites and preparing for the first five was no small task given the short notice. Public Law 110-456 which authorized the program was only passed into law by former President Bush on Dec. 23, 2008. The U.S. Mint usually enjoys a longer time frame, with 18 months more standard for just a single new coin design. As such, the 2010 quarters will be released later in the year than has been typical. They will have less time separation between each release.

As a side note, this site’s America the Beautiful Quarters Release Schedule, which lists all 56 quarter issues by site, was also updated with the latest available dates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *